Maggie Swan

Tallying the results of our 30-day vegan experiment

In Vegan on March 14, 2014 at 6:15 pm

It hasn’t quite been 30 days – St. Patrick’s Day will mark the end of our month-long experiment. But I couldn’t wait the extra few days to see how our bodies have changed.

Frankly, I couldn’t believe the results.

In less than a month, with no calorie-counting and limited exercise (mostly because I couldn’t get away from work long enough to go to the gym for spin and core training classes), I lost 7 pounds. More startling, I lost nearly an inch from my waistline and an inch from my hips. My resting heart rate dropped from 73 to 63. My blood pressure, which has always been pretty low, was now 99/66.

Brian has lost 10 pounds. His blood pressure dropped significantly, and his resting heartbeat dropped from 67 to 59. He has to wear a different belt now to hold up his loosening pants.

Our skin feels much more supple. Our muscles feel tighter. The crow’s feet lines around our eyes are starting to fade.

I don’t feel deprived. I don’t stress about calories. I don’t miss the processed food anymore, nor do I miss the sugar or dairy. I miss the convenience of foods like pizza, but we spend a lot of time prepping our vegetables and fruits so that we can quickly and easily throw together a nutritious shake whenever we get hungry.

And we’re so jazzed about how good we feel that we’ve decided to see how we feel in another 30 days!

Leave a Reply

